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These documents collect amendments to the rules and present 
our responses to players’ frequently asked questions. Often 
these amendments are updates necessitated by new releases or 
community feedback; these can be identified by the presence 
of an asterisk before the page reference. At other times, these 
amendments are errata designed to correct mistakes or add 
clarity to a rule that is not as clear as it might be. 

As they’re revised regularly, each of these documents has a 
version number; where a version number has a letter, e.g. 1.1a, 
this means it has had a local amendment, only in that language, 
to clarify a translation issue or other minor correction. When 
a document is revised, the version number will be incremented 
and new updates will be highlighted in blue, while new errata 
and FAQs will be highlighted in magenta.

DESIGNER’S NOTES
BLAST AND MULTIPLE DICE ROLLS
In addition to the errata here, we wanted to briefly add an 
additional example to explain how the Blast rule works when 
shooting a weapon that requires more than one dice roll to 
determine its number of attacks. For example, if a Heavy 2D3 
weapon with the Blast rule targets a unit that has 6 or more models, 
and you roll a double 1 to determine how many attacks are made, 
that result is less than 3 and so that weapon makes 3 attacks 
against that target. If the same weapon targets a unit that has 11 or 
more models, that weapon makes six attacks against that unit.

OBSCURING AND DENSE COVER
Obscuring and Dense Cover are two terrain traits introduced 
with ninth edition that interact with visibility. These rules do not 
overwrite the normal rules for determining visibility, though - they 
are in addition to them. Specifically, even though the Obscuring 
rules state that Aircraft and models with a Wounds characteristic 
of 18+ can be seen through Obscuring terrain, they are still only 
visible (and hence eligible) targets if the firing model can physically 
see them (so if the terrain in question is solid and opaque, they 
are still not eligible targets). Also, in the same way that Obscuring 
terrain ‘blocks’ visibility when it is in between the firing model 
and its intended target, Dense Cover terrain imposes a hit penalty 
whenever it is between the firing model and its intended target 
(with the noted exceptions). It is not required for a unit to be 
fulfilling the criteria of ‘gaining the benefits of cover’, as described 
for Obstacles and Area Terrain, for this penalty to hit rolls to apply 
(but also note that any rule that ignores the benefits of cover, or 
that ignores the benefits of cover that impose a penalty on hit rolls, 
would still ignore that penalty).

UPDATES & ERRATA
Page 215 – Manifesting Psychic Powers, first paragraph
Add the following sentence:
‘The same Psyker unit cannot attempt to manifest Smite more 
than once during the same battle round.’

Page 219 – Look Out, Sir
Change this rule to read:
Models cannot target a unit that contains any Character models 
with a Wounds characteristic of 9 or less with a ranged weapon 
while that Character unit is within 3" of any of the following:

•	 �A friendly unit that contains 1 or more Vehicle or Monster 
models with a wounds characteristic of 10 or more.

•	 �A friendly non-Character unit that contains 1 or more 
Vehicle or Monster models.

•	 �A friendly non-Character unit that contains 3 or 
more models. 

In all cases, if that Character unit is both visible to the firing 
model and it is the closest enemy unit to the firing model, it 
can be targeted normally. When determining if that Character 
unit is the closest enemy unit to the firing model, ignore other 
enemy units that contain any Character models with a Wounds 
characteristics of 9 or less.

	 �Cannot shoot at an enemy Character with 9 or 
less wounds while it is within 3" of a friendly unit 
that contains 1 Monster, 1 Vehicle or 3+ other 
models (excluding Character models with 9 or less 
wounds) unless it is the closest target.

Page 247
Add the following sub-section:
FORTIFICATIONS
Units with the Fortifications Battlefield Role are terrain features 
that are part of your army. Unless otherwise stated, when 
setting Fortifications up on the battlefield, they cannot be set up 
within 3" of any other terrain feature that is not part of its own 
datasheet (excluding hills, page 260). If it is not possible to set up 
a Fortification as a result, it cannot be deployed and counts as 
having been destroyed. Fortifications can never be placed into 
Strategic Reserves (pg 256).
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	� Fortifications cannot be setup within 3" of other 
terrain features (except hills).

	� Fortifications cannot be placed into Strategic Reserves.

Page 258 – Performing Actions, second paragraph, 
fourth sentence
Change this sentence to read:
‘A unit can only attempt to perform one action per battle round.’

Page 263 – Obscuring, second paragraph, first sentence 
Change this sentence to read:
‘Models that are on or within terrain feature can see, and can be 
seen and targeted normally.’

Page 263 – Heavy Cover 
Change this paragraph to read:
‘When an attack made with a melee weapon wounds a model 
that is receiving the benefits of cover from this terrain feature, 
add 1 to the saving throw made against that attack unless the 
model that the attack is allocated to made a charge move this 
turn (invulnerable saving throws are not affected).

Page 290 – Incursion Mission, Crossfire 
Change the two 12 horizontal measurements on this mission’s 
map to each be 3".

Designer’s Note: The objective markers in this mission should be 
12" from the ‘vertical’ centreline of the battlefield, not 12" from 
the dotted 9" circle in the centre of the battlefield.

Page 322 – Master-crafted Armour
Change the first sentence to read:
‘Add 1 to armour saving throws made for the bearer.’

Page 333 – 8. Place Objective Markers
Change the first sentence to read:
‘The players now set up objective markers on the battlefield.’

Page 363 – Rare Rules
Add the following:
DESPERATE BREAKOUT AND RULES THAT PREVENT FALLING BACK
Some rules either prevent enemy units from falling back, or 
when a unit is selected to, or otherwise wishes to Fall Back, 
triggers a roll-off, test or other dice roll that can result in the 
enemy unit being unable to Fall Back. In either cases, a rule 
that prevents Falling Back takes precedence over Desperate 
Breakout Stratagem (pg 255). This means, in the first case, that 
using the Stratagem on a unit would not enable it to Fall Back 
- you would be spending CPs only for the chance to destroy 
some of your own models. In the second case, if the Desperate 
Breakout stratagem is used on a unit, then after rolling to see if 
any models in that unit are destroyed, any roll-off, test or other 
roll is then triggered and resolved (which may result in the unit 
not being able to Fall Back). Note that in either case, if a rule 
prevents a unit from Falling Back, no models in that unit can 
make (and hence end) a Fall Back move, so no additional models 
in that unit are destroyed, but the unit the Stratagem was used 
on will still be unable to do anything else this turn.

	� Rules that prevent Falling Back take precedence over 
the Desperate Breakout Stratagem.

Page 363 – Rare Rules
Add the following:
MANIFESTING PRIORITY
While manifesting a psychic power, you’ll occasionally find 
that two rules are in direct conflict and cannot both apply -  for 
example, when one rule says that a psychic power cannot be 
denied and another rule says that a psychic power is denied (or 
resisted). When this happens, rules that say a psychic power 
cannot be denied take precedence over rules that say the psychic 
power is denied.

	� If a psychic power is manifested and is affected by 
conflicting rules regarding whether it can or cannot 
be denied, rules that say that the psychic power 
cannot be denied take precedence.

Page 363 – Rare Rules
Add the following:
MULTIPLE ATTACKS THAT INFLICT MORTAL WOUNDS
Some attacks can inflict mortal wounds either instead of, or in 
addition to, the normal damage. If, when a unit is selected to 
shoot or fight, more than one of its attacks that target an enemy 
unit have such a rule, all the normal damage inflicted by the 
attacking unit’s attacks are resolved against that target before 
any of the mortal wounds are inflicted on it.

	� If a unit can make multiple attacks that inflict mortal 
wounds, all of the normal damage inflicted by all of 
the attacking unit’s attacks is resolved before any of 
the mortal wounds are resolved.

Page 363 – Rare Rules
Add the following sub-section:
SCORING ADDITIONAL HITS
When a model makes an attack, some rules will let that attack 
score one or more additional hits on a particular hit roll (e.g. 
‘each time an attack is made with this weapon, an unmodified 
hit roll of 6 scores 1 additional hit’). If the attacking model is 
also benefiting from any other rules that trigger on a particular 
hit roll (e.g. ‘each time an attack is made with this weapon, 
an unmodified hit roll of 6 automatically wounds the target’), 
then only the original attack benefits from those rules. If any 
additional hits are scored as the result of a particular hit roll, 
those additional hits are not considered to have been made with 
any hit roll – they simply hit the target and you must continue 
the attack sequence for them (i.e. make a wound roll).

	� If a hit roll scores additional hits, those additional hits 
do not benefit from any other rule that triggered on 
the original attack’s hit roll.
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Page 363 – Rare Rules
Add the following:
STRATAGEMS THAT GAIN OR REFUND CPS
The advanced rules for Command points state that you cannot 
gain, or have refunded, more than 1 Command point per battle 
round because of any rules (other than via the exceptions listed 
on page 245, such as the Battle-forged CP Bonus). However, 
there are a small handful of Stratagems that let players gain or 
refund several Command points when used (e.g. Feeder Tendrils 
in Codex: Tyranids). So long as such a Stratagem is used during 
a phase (i.e. it is not used ‘before the battle’ or ‘at the end of a 
battle round’), the limit of gaining or refunding 1 Command 
point per battle round does not apply to any Command points 
gained via Stratagems.

	� The limit of gaining or refunding 1 CP per battle round 
does not apply to any CPs gained via Stratagems that 
are used during a phase. Breakout Stratagem.

Page 363 – Rare Rules
Add the following:

MOVING THROUGH MODELS
Some models have a rule that enables them to ‘move through/
over models’, or ‘move through/over models as if they were not 
there’. Sometimes such a rule will only apply to specific types of 
movement (e.g. Normal Moves, Advance moves, charge moves 
etc.) while other times it will apply to all types of movement. 
In any case, when moving a model with such a rule, it can be 
moved within Engagement Range of enemy models, but it can 
never finish a move on top of another model, or its base, and 
it cannot finish a Normal Move, Advance or Fall Back move 
within Engagement Range of any enemy models, and it can only 
end a charge move in Engagement Range of units it declared a 
charge against that phase).

	� Models that can move through/over enemy models 
can also be moved within Engagement Range of 
enemy models.

	� Models cannot end a move on top of another model.
	� Models cannot end a Normal Move, Advance or 

Fall Back move within Engagement Range of any 
enemy unit.

	� Models can only end a charge move within 
Engagement Range of enemy units that they declared 
a charge against that phase.

Page 363 – Rare Rules
Add the following:

IGNORING WOUNDS VS. RULES THAT PREVENT MODELS FROM 
IGNORING WOUNDS
Some models have a rule that says that they cannot lose more 
than a specified number of wounds in the same phase/turn/
battle round, and that any wounds that would be lost after 
that point are not lost. When such a model is attacked by a 
weapon or model with a rule that says that enemy models 
cannot use rules to ignore the wounds it loses, that rule takes 
precedence over the previous rule, and if that attack inflicts 
any damage on that model, it loses a number of wounds 
equal to the Damage characteristic of that attack, even if it 
has already lost the specified number of wounds already this 
phase/turn/battle round.

	 �Rules that say models ‘cannot use rules to ignore the 
wounds they lose’ take precedence over rules that 
say that a model ‘cannot lose more than a specified 
number of wounds, and any wounds lost after that 
point are not lost.


